Five Sentence Fiction: Memories

Five sentence fiction’s word prompt is Memories.  Thanks again to http://lilliemcferrin.com/ for this great challenge.  Here is mine.

Doug sat quietly in the passenger seat as I drove through unfamiliar streets.  An awkward silence had hung on us since we began our journey, and I had time to remember another day when I embarrassed Doug with my tears.  And that memory brought tears again to my eyes; tears I could not control.  This day was not like that day when I dropped Doug off for his first day of kindergarten, when he would come home to be greeted with cookies and hugs.  This was his first of many days when he would not be coming home for hugs and cookies; as this was his first day of college.

6 thoughts on “Five Sentence Fiction: Memories

Got something to season my kettle of soup? Stir it in and savor the flavor.

