Little Known Facts about Me

Road sign, 2 miles north of Nome, Alaska

Road sign, 2 miles north of Nome, Alaska (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Here are some things you might not know about me:

My husband and I judged a  parade in Nome, Alaska.  On the longest day of the year they must have some fun, so they put on a midnight parade with floats and bands.  We were staying there on a vacation, so they thought we should  choose the winner, since we probably would not be biased

I won a speech contest in Junior college

I once did a radio show with my classmates on a local station.  It was about a cottontail rabbit that ran away from home.  It was written in our classroom.

I was on the honor role only once in highschool. That was a proud moment, since I usually scraped by with mostly Bs and Cs.  I think I studied pretty hard though.

I once had a job in selling newspaper subscriptions over the phone.  I don’t think it had the stigma that it does now.  I hate being bothered over the phone to buy anything.

I was the only one of my family that graduated from college.

My first teaching job was in a two room schoolhouse.  It was challenging being in charge of four grades, kindergarten through third.

I designed a dollhouse and with my husbands help obtained a patent for it.  It turned out to be the most expensive dollhouse in history.  We still have one of the only three ever built.  My granddaughter has a great time playing with it and that in itself is priceless.

I was in a highschool production of Arsenic and Old Lace. I played the older sister.  I love the film version with Cary Grant.

I have dreams of cooking.  I created a special harvest soup in one dream and cooked it the next day.  Someday I’ll share the recipe.  It was actually good.

I once took my mother to a Michael Bolten concert.  She loved it.

I sing alto when I’m in church.  Sometime I try the bass part, but no one can hear me anyway if I make a mistake.

Someday I spend the whole day without putting on make-up.

I don’t play bridge–though I did try playing one time and could never get the hang of it.

I have walked on the Great Wall in China.

I like to read and write poetry.

Never played golf—does miniature count?

I used to paint pictures, but don’t anymore.

Riding a bicycle is scary for me.

I’m afraid of heights.  I actually got light-headed on a ferris wheel.

I enjoy quilting.  I once made a quilt entirely out of ties.

My favorite book is To Kill a Mockingbird.

3 thoughts on “Little Known Facts about Me

Got something to season my kettle of soup? Stir it in and savor the flavor.

