V is for Violation

I got to thinking about my post on time and have to admit, I went back in to edit it and found an error.  (Yep me, word Girl, who should have known better to publish a post without a thorough edit…) mmm, maybe I thought it was free style at the time and I didn’t need to edit.  No, I’m just making excuses.  Here’s the blog   if you want to check what I wrote.

I was talking about a theoretical question, which could theoretically possibly work.  No one questioned me on it, but it still seemed a bit out of place.  I thought of rhetorical.  I really like that word, rolls off the tongue nicely.  A rhetorical question I learned from Webster’s’ is one that does not necessarily need an answer or only has one answer available.

Hypothetical has a meaning of uncertainty or a statement existing as an idea…not an actual or plausible statement.  So that is the correct word in this instance.  Please don’t send out the grammar squad.  I already have a couple of other similar violations, so I have to plead for leniency.

 

2 thoughts on “V is for Violation

  1. It is always great to get your comments. I do feel that when something like this happens it is a teachable moment. My friend used tot say, “think before putting your brain in gear.” Same can be said for hitting publish.

Got something to season my kettle of soup? Stir it in and savor the flavor.

