Mystery Post plus a prompt equals F is for Fear

I’m taking a break from Writing 201 and combining two daily prompts for my challenge.  The first prompt was to write about fear.  Rules for the mystery post are at the end.

What would the world, my world be like if there was no fear? First of all a few observations: often times fear will keep a person from facing problems they need to confront, or fear makes it impossible to move forward in a positive way, or actually  it  might act as a deterrent that could prevent harmful actions.

The Bible tells us that Fear (of God) is the beginning of wisdom. (Proverbs 9:10) Puzzling …maybe I will eventually come to a full understanding of the proverb.

I look back on my own life and remember times when I didn’t do something because I was afraid of the strap my father would wield, should I become foolish enough to follow my desires. (I remember times also, when I gave into my wants and the strap showed me how foolish I had been.)

While fear of my father’s strap kept me from going astray, did that said fear teach me wisdom? The answer is not in on that one.  Fear, a necessary part life, kept me from harming myself, and kept me alive long enough to gain some wisdom.  But that is a moot point.

I remember one day when I was eight, that fear was not a strong deterrent for what I wanted: to ride a bicycle as well as my brothers. I didn’t own a bike.  Sadly.  My mother thought I was too delicate to ride one; that it was for boys. Nevermind I had never been on a bike before; or that their bike was probably not a fit for me. I had to convince my brothers to let me ride the bicycle they shared.  They knew that I didn’t have a chance, but gave in probably in an effort to stop my whining.  I could not run to my mother on this one anyway.  She would just side with them. So they gave in just to shut me up; and to teach me a lesson they probably thought. You can read the story here.  Also on that post I talk about trying to water ski. I grew up most of my life afraid of water, never learning to swim until I was in my twenties.  But that didn’t keep me from giving in to the dare that I could learn to water ski the day I was out with my high school  friends. I let them talk me in to donning a life jacket and made my one and only attempt at the sport.

Day three of this challenge was to add something about a dream of the future. I had always wanted to be an artist.  I could draw and I learned to paint in school.  But to break out into the art world was only a dream.  Fear held me back.  The fear of not being good enough.  I let a comment by one of my teachers smother a desire to go into commercial art.  Not that I wasn’t good enough.  In his eyes I wasn’t tough enough for the challenge. Tough enough meaning I was only a girl and couldn’t compete with the boys.  And I believed it, because after all, my mother basically thought the same thing about girls versus boys.

Day four:  The refrigerator?  How can that fit into a subject on fear.  Hmmm.   Frozen?  Ok. On with that thought.  So you might say, I’m frozen in time.  I still like to be called a girl. I wrote about that.

For the inspiration (day 5) it would have to be this

.step faith

Rules for Mystery Post: Day One: start your post.

  • Day Two: add a quote from a conversation you had with someone today (an email, instant message, or text conversation is fine, too).
  • Day Three: add something related to what your childhood self wanted to be when you grew up, or a dream you have for your future.
  • Day Four: add a reference to something currently in your refrigerator.
  • Day Five: add something inspired by a song you heard today. If you didn’t hear any music, use something you read (and turn on the radio!).
3 thoughts on “Mystery Post plus a prompt equals F is for Fear

Got something to season my kettle of soup? Stir it in and savor the flavor.

