Q is for Quarrel

The daily prompt asked us to devote a bunch of precious time to write about a conversation we overheard but wish we didn’t.

I wish I hadn’t read about this prompt because now I am going to have to tell you that the conversation I overheard was me talking to myself and the quarrel that ensued.  You see I wanted to write about those three little monkeys with the saying “See no evil, say no evil, hear no evil.  But then I argued that would be trite.  That got me thinking about how monkeys talk to each other in their chirpy little sounds and I wonder if they ever have arguments with themselves.  Probably about whether they should eat another banana when they already had three in their stomach.  That made me want to leave the computer right now and head for the my place I hide my chocolate and indulge myself.  I told myself I couldn’t do that, because of what the scale told me just this morning.  I didn’t want to believe that.  I think my scale got broken overnight.  I don’t know who would have done such a thing. I went to find my chocolate anyway.  I had it in my hand, ready to take a bite, when I heard, “Stop, doing that!”

Well, I have to tell you, the third party; the chocolate won out.  It always does. Next time I talk to myself, it will be in whispers.

Got something to season my kettle of soup? Stir it in and savor the flavor.

