K is Knowing what to Crop

1290machete

Writing is easy. All you have to do is cross out the wrong words.

                                                                                                      — Mark Twain

I love to read anything written by Mark Twain.  He makes it look easy.  Sure.  He knows all the wrong words to cross out and all the right words to leave in.  Yep, that sure seems easy.

I’ve read much advice on editing, and it doesn’t look easy.  In fact it seems like a daunting task to take your finished piece and start slashing away, but it must me done.

I thought I might take one of my previous posts and see what I could do.  Here it is: One of my favorite posts “Twained”. (I just made up that word.)

Note: Letters in green are added.

Z is for Zelda Wisdom

“Old age comes at a very bad time.”  Zelda
Recently I read this quote and I went on a search to find out more about the author. What I found out is Zelda, the author of the quote, is a thirteen year old English Bulldog who lives with Carol Gardner. I found the websiteRead her storyhere. Then I decided it was worth of a post and it fits my letter Z.  Nice.

I discoveredZelda reveals that beauty is more than skin deep.  Though she commands a spot on the fashion scene, inside Zelda is a loving heart.  She is therapy dog and also raises money for doggy charities.

So I chuckled as a clicked through the pages of the site.  Dear Zelda Archives is the doggy version of “Dear Abby” and offers up some timely advice.  Check out the Day to Day Dogma and if you wish you can sign up for the daily wisdom. Nice again.

For a final treat watch theIn  a Youtube video where Carol Gardner talks about how she began her business.  I love how the video comes full circle and ends with the above quote.  I did not plan that.  I don’t think I could have planned it better.

*  * *

I feel like I used a machete on this piece.  So I don’t know if I went too far.  It seems too cropped now, but as an exercise in restraint, it was worthwhile.  What do you think?

2 thoughts on “K is Knowing what to Crop

Got something to season my kettle of soup? Stir it in and savor the flavor.

